Sunday, 21 September 2014

Another Year In Blog Land!


Today I celebrate my 6th anniversary in blog land!

Who would have thought?

In the last year my attention has turned more to Instagram as it's quick & easy but I do like to catch up with my favourite blogs with my morning cup of tea.

Today I'm off with the family to another 1940's event, I'll tell you all about it soon.



Sunday, 14 September 2014

August Book Review


1940: as war closes in and the bombs fall, on the Homefront, two sisters must find their place in a new world of ‘men’s’ work, in which a telegraph can break your heart and nothing in the future is certain. Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse were always like chalk and cheese. As young women, while Sylvia dreams of her forthcoming life married to fiancĂ© Ian. Audrey can’t bear the thought of being tied down by marriage and children. Instead she jumps at the career opportunities the WAAF throws her way. Joining the ranks at RAF Cardington, she finds these new freedoms come with confusion and irresistible temptations. When she goes too far in one careless moment, the consequences will ripple through the whole Whitehouse family. Meanwhile, Sylvia has come round to the idea of war work and, doing her bit, becomes a railway porter, much to Ian’s dismay. Fetching and carrying are just not feminine, not like Sylvia’s new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty’s innocent, girlish nature hides a far darker secret that no one could guess… As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, the two sisters must decide what they really want from life and if they’re brave enough to fight for it. A heartbreaking yet inspiring novel, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.
Only one book read in August. 
This was brought to the shop by a lovely lady who keeps me supplied with WW2 romance.
It was a great book, with lots twist & turns.
10/10 





Sunday, 7 September 2014

August 2014


Summer has nearly gone & autumn is knocking on the door.
August was a funny month...... it started with lights out to remember WW1, lots of knitting, treats from customers & volunteers, starting my Christmas jumper, treating myself to yet another cardigan & spending lots of time with my girls.

It finished with my birthday


My gifts this year 


Beautiful vintage candle holder

I spent a lot of August alone, including most of my birthday. OH has decided to move out as he hates living here, at the moment he's taken a room in the city centre for 6 months to see how it goes. It all feels a bit weird & lonely but I have to get used to it. I'm learning to cook to try & save money as I'm paying all the bills so takeaway & M&S is not on the cards!

September is my favourite month but at the moment it's hard to look on the bright side. My deputy manager has left so I'm alone in the shop, I'm trying to sort out cover for days off but not getting very far. Fingers crossed we find someone soon. I need to knuckle down & focus on now rather than worrying about what will happen in 6 months time.

Hopefully September will be better! 





Friday, 29 August 2014

Day Out

This year instead of a birthday gift my parents took me on a day trip.....  it was 2 days before my birthday but they're going away this weekend.

So after weeks of trying to guess where I would be going I ended up at Oakham Treasures near Bristol.

I'd never heard of this place until a couple of months ago when one of my volunteers brought in a leaflet as she thought I might like it. Little did I know my parents had seen a leaflet too & thought the same.

Liked it....... I loved it!!!

I will warn you there's a lot of photos!







My shoes!






Liberty bodice

My tipple!

I had that monkey!





Yet another new cardigan

I can't recommend this place enough, it was great going with my parents as they enjoyed telling me the story of things they had as children. We went early in the morning & there was only a few people, which was lovely. It felt like we had the place to ourselves so could browse around slowly. I would say it would be boring for very young children so I'm glad my brother didn't come with his son. I think one of the nicest things was the relaxing atmosphere & bored children would have made it stressful!

There was so much to see my eyes were hurting.
 Drink, food, cigarettes, clothes, sewing..... they had the lot!

You can find out more on their website

Hope I haven't bored you all with my photo's!





Friday, 22 August 2014

Still Here......

'cor blimey where does the time go??

I can't believe I haven't posted for nearly 2 weeks! August seems to be flying by & what with a turn in the weather it feels like autumn is nearly here. 

I don't seem to have done much which is why I haven't posted anything. At the end of July we went to Bridport vintage market.


We found a couple of bargains for my mums birthday & I found some lovely fabric


I did have plans to make a cushion but it's still on the back of my chair, well at least it's not packed away in my fabric box.



I've been busy making poppies for my Etsy shop

I've also been spending time with my girls & of course working.

I was due to have a holiday next week but unfortunately I've had to cancel it as there was no one to cover the shop :(
I've got a 4 day weekend from the 28th to celebrate my birthday then it's back to the grind stone!
My deputy leaves the week after so I'm not sure when my next day off will be, I better make the most of it.

Pop over to see me on Instagram as I find it easier than blogging.







Friday, 8 August 2014

July Book Review


Liverpool 1936
Miranda and her mother, Arabella, live comfortably in a nice area. But when her mother tells her she can no longer afford their present lifestyle, they have a blazing row, and Miranda goes to bed angry and upset. When she wakes the next morning, however, her mother has disappeared.
She raises the alarm but everyone is baffled, and when searches fail to discover Arabella's whereabouts, Miranda is forced to live with her Aunt Vi and cousin Beth, who resent her presence and treat her badly.
Miranda is miserable, but when she meets a neighbour, Steve, things begin to look up and Steve promises to help his new friend in her search, and does so until war intervenes.

I loved this book! It had me hooked from the beginning. I really enjoy Katie Flynn books, a good light read with the back drop of WW2
10/10


Laura Collins, a widow, is struggling to make a good life for her daughters, Tess and Tina.They are living with Laura's sister Millie and her seven children so when Laura is offered a good job, with accommodation, she is delighted.
Life is very different for the Brewsters, living on Manor Farm in Herefordshire.Danny and his girlfriend, Sophie, intend to marry one day so that they can run Manor Farm together but his cousin and best friend, Phil Ryland, feels differently.He longs to get away from farming and intends to escape as soon as he can.
Then war comes and changes everything.Tina is evacuated and Tess joins the Land Army.She means to be true to her boyfriend, Mike, but he is far away.Danny and Phil join the RAF, Danny to pilot bombers and Phil as navigator.They end up on the same airfield and fall in love with the same girl...But Phil has a secret which could end his chance of happiness, and Danny is the only person who knows what that secret is ...

Yep another Katie Flynn book! This time I've moved on to land girls.
Another great book. If you haven't read any of her books I would recommend them...... great for holiday reading.
10/10

More WW2 romance coming in August


Sunday, 3 August 2014

July 2014


Another July has passed us by

I remembered the Somme on the 1st, went to another 1940's event with the family, knitted lots, treated myself to some flowers, had a relaxing spa evening, spent lots of time with my girls & remembered Teddy at the end of the month...... can't believe it's been 2 years since he left me :( 

We also celebrated our 1st birthday in the shop.

It's been a good sunny month