Sunday, 12 October 2014

September Book Review

Two more WW2 stories read in September.


A family divided by war but united by love. Marianne seems to have everything. She is married to a handsome naval officer, Neil Sheridan, commander of a corvette. They have a daughter, Libby, and a beautiful home near Prince's Park in Liverpool. When war comes, Marianne takes war work and moves into Crocus Street with her mother, Mrs Wainwright, and younger sister. Neil disapproves because the Wainwrights live so near the docks, which are bound to be a bombing target, but Marianne is firm. Meanwhile, Libby is evacuated to the country to stay with Miss Williams, who lives in an ancient house, Tregarth, at the head of a valley in North Wales and Libby, the wheelchair-bound Matthew and Miss Williams assume they can settle down to see out the war in comparative safety. But, Libby is forced to return to the city when her mother suffers an accident and her gran finds herself unable to cope ...

I love Katie Flynn books & this one didn't disappoint. I read this one pretty quick for me, I did see the twist in the story before it came but I still really enjoyed it.
9/10



The much-loved author of ACROSS THE MERSEY tells of Liverpool under bombardment as never before – but the Campion family refuses to give in.
The Campions have always stuck together through danger and sorrow, but even they begin to wonder if it’s time to take their youngest, the twins, to safety away from the bombing raids. The twins have other worries on their minds; having been inseparable, they now realise that they each have different ambitions - and Lou isn’t sure she’ll find what she wants close to home.
Meanwhile, cousin Bella is managing a creche and discovers that life isn’t all about pleasure. She’s the last person her family would expect to help anyone; but when a figure from the past turns up on the doorstep, Bella’s unexpected reserves of compassion are revealed.
From hardship and heartbreak, surviving the toughest of times, the Campions know they can make it through if they have one another.

This is part of a series of book which I hadn't read. I was tempted to give up once I discovered that but I'm glad I stuck with it. You can't beat a happy ending :) 
9/10

I decided not to read anymore WW2 but after 2 days of reading a modern book I gave up & went back to my favourites.
My reading mojo is slipping away again & the book I'm reading is taking forever to finish :(
I must stick with it!





Thursday, 9 October 2014

September 2014


I've been away too long & the weeks are marching on :(

So September came & went in a haze!

I finally received my anniversary present from OH...... we've been waiting since Christmas!.... top left corner, it's the new The Men They Couldn't Hang album that OH pledged, look closely & you'll see my name!!!
We remember our lovely Charlie who pass away 6 years ago, I had my 6th anniversary in blogland, started my Christmas jumper, tried to make loads for the November Crikey It's Vintage fair, finding goodies in my shop, a 1940's day out & of course spending time with my beautiful girls.

September was a lovely months & the sun shone lots. I'm getting used to living on my own but not looking forward to February when OH's lease is up on his new place...... I really don't want to move all my junk!!!

Hope I can find time to blog soon.



Sunday, 21 September 2014

Another Year In Blog Land!


Today I celebrate my 6th anniversary in blog land!

Who would have thought?

In the last year my attention has turned more to Instagram as it's quick & easy but I do like to catch up with my favourite blogs with my morning cup of tea.

Today I'm off with the family to another 1940's event, I'll tell you all about it soon.



Sunday, 14 September 2014

August Book Review


1940: as war closes in and the bombs fall, on the Homefront, two sisters must find their place in a new world of ‘men’s’ work, in which a telegraph can break your heart and nothing in the future is certain. Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse were always like chalk and cheese. As young women, while Sylvia dreams of her forthcoming life married to fiancĂ© Ian. Audrey can’t bear the thought of being tied down by marriage and children. Instead she jumps at the career opportunities the WAAF throws her way. Joining the ranks at RAF Cardington, she finds these new freedoms come with confusion and irresistible temptations. When she goes too far in one careless moment, the consequences will ripple through the whole Whitehouse family. Meanwhile, Sylvia has come round to the idea of war work and, doing her bit, becomes a railway porter, much to Ian’s dismay. Fetching and carrying are just not feminine, not like Sylvia’s new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty’s innocent, girlish nature hides a far darker secret that no one could guess… As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, the two sisters must decide what they really want from life and if they’re brave enough to fight for it. A heartbreaking yet inspiring novel, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.
Only one book read in August. 
This was brought to the shop by a lovely lady who keeps me supplied with WW2 romance.
It was a great book, with lots twist & turns.
10/10 





Sunday, 7 September 2014

August 2014


Summer has nearly gone & autumn is knocking on the door.
August was a funny month...... it started with lights out to remember WW1, lots of knitting, treats from customers & volunteers, starting my Christmas jumper, treating myself to yet another cardigan & spending lots of time with my girls.

It finished with my birthday


My gifts this year 


Beautiful vintage candle holder

I spent a lot of August alone, including most of my birthday. OH has decided to move out as he hates living here, at the moment he's taken a room in the city centre for 6 months to see how it goes. It all feels a bit weird & lonely but I have to get used to it. I'm learning to cook to try & save money as I'm paying all the bills so takeaway & M&S is not on the cards!

September is my favourite month but at the moment it's hard to look on the bright side. My deputy manager has left so I'm alone in the shop, I'm trying to sort out cover for days off but not getting very far. Fingers crossed we find someone soon. I need to knuckle down & focus on now rather than worrying about what will happen in 6 months time.

Hopefully September will be better! 





Friday, 29 August 2014

Day Out

This year instead of a birthday gift my parents took me on a day trip.....  it was 2 days before my birthday but they're going away this weekend.

So after weeks of trying to guess where I would be going I ended up at Oakham Treasures near Bristol.

I'd never heard of this place until a couple of months ago when one of my volunteers brought in a leaflet as she thought I might like it. Little did I know my parents had seen a leaflet too & thought the same.

Liked it....... I loved it!!!

I will warn you there's a lot of photos!







My shoes!






Liberty bodice

My tipple!

I had that monkey!





Yet another new cardigan

I can't recommend this place enough, it was great going with my parents as they enjoyed telling me the story of things they had as children. We went early in the morning & there was only a few people, which was lovely. It felt like we had the place to ourselves so could browse around slowly. I would say it would be boring for very young children so I'm glad my brother didn't come with his son. I think one of the nicest things was the relaxing atmosphere & bored children would have made it stressful!

There was so much to see my eyes were hurting.
 Drink, food, cigarettes, clothes, sewing..... they had the lot!

You can find out more on their website

Hope I haven't bored you all with my photo's!





Friday, 22 August 2014

Still Here......

'cor blimey where does the time go??

I can't believe I haven't posted for nearly 2 weeks! August seems to be flying by & what with a turn in the weather it feels like autumn is nearly here. 

I don't seem to have done much which is why I haven't posted anything. At the end of July we went to Bridport vintage market.


We found a couple of bargains for my mums birthday & I found some lovely fabric


I did have plans to make a cushion but it's still on the back of my chair, well at least it's not packed away in my fabric box.



I've been busy making poppies for my Etsy shop

I've also been spending time with my girls & of course working.

I was due to have a holiday next week but unfortunately I've had to cancel it as there was no one to cover the shop :(
I've got a 4 day weekend from the 28th to celebrate my birthday then it's back to the grind stone!
My deputy leaves the week after so I'm not sure when my next day off will be, I better make the most of it.

Pop over to see me on Instagram as I find it easier than blogging.